Morecambe announce two captains going into the 2022/23 season

Morecambe boss Derek Adams has handed captaincy roles to two summer signings ahead of Saturday’s opening match against Shrewsbury Town.

By Gavin Browne
Thursday, 28th July 2022, 6:00 pm

Connor Ripley has been named as club captain with Donald Love taking on the role of matchday skipper.

They succeed Anthony O’Connor, who was handed the armband last season by Adams’ predecessor, Stephen Robinson.

Ripley told the club website: “I am honoured to be named as club captain and I am really happy.

Connor Ripley has been named as Morecambe's club captain Picture: Morecambe FC

Read More

Read More
Morecambe boss: League One survival would be success for the Shrimps

“The gaffer has chosen myself and Donald to be captains and we will show that his decision was the right one throughout the season.

“The conversations I had with the manager before I signed were always positive.

“I have never been a captain at a club before, so it is a real privilege.

Donald Love takes on the role of Morecambe's matchday captain Picture: Morecambe FC

“I think you can be as vocal as you want to be but you have to say the right things: you have to act in the right manner as well.

“I like a good joke about and a mess around but I want to win and I want to improve.

“I would like to think the way I do things will help the team as a whole.”

Love added: “It is a proud moment for me.

“Hopefully me and Rippers (Ripley) can do a good job and represent the club in a good way.

“It is my first time taking the captain’s armband, so hopefully I can do well when I am in the post.

“I don’t need extra motivation but having the responsibility is massive for me on a personal level.

“I want to get out there and show the gaffer that his choice in me is justified, and hopefully I can do that for him across the season.”

As well as revealing their new captains, the Shrimps have also published updated squad numbers for the season.

They are as follows: 1. Connor Ripley; 2. Donald Love; 3. Max Melbourne; 4. Liam Gibson; 5. Farrend Rawson; 6. Ryan Delaney; 7. Jake Taylor; 8. Ousmane Fane; 9. Cole Stockton; 10. Ash Hunter; 11. Dylan Connolly; 12. Adam Smith; 13. Andre Da Silva Mendes; 14. Arthur Gnahoua; 15. Jensen Weir; 17. Caleb Watts; 18. Shane McLoughlin; 19. Jon Obika; 20. Ryan McLaughlin; 21. Ryan Cooney; 22. Anthony O’Connor; 23. Wes McDonald; 24. Courtney Duffus.