Youngsters take centre stage on Atoms’ awards night

Heysham Atoms' club secretary Dave Crow hands over the Team of the Year shield to the Under 13s.
Heysham Atoms' club secretary Dave Crow hands over the Team of the Year shield to the Under 13s.
Share this article

The Heysham Atoms rounded off their memorable season with a presentation evening at the Trimpell Club.

Club secretary Dave Crow handed out the gongs with the first team having secured promotion to the North West Men’s League Premier Division for the first time having won 20 of their 27 games in league and cup.

There were honours for several of the senior players with Mark Walker named the Player of the Year and Al Crookall the Players’ Player of the Year.

There was success throughout the club however with the Atoms’ newest side, the under 11s, the first to hand out awards on the night.

Coach Liam Aspden made the presentations with Harry Barron named Player of the Year and Joel Davidson picking up the Coach’s Award.

The under 13s coached by Wayne Lawton have still to fulfil all their fixtures and have deferred their presentation until the end of their elongated season.

They were however awarded the Team of the Year shield in the face of some fierce competition from within the club.

The under 18s have also been a huge success story this year, the squad of 27 finishing fourth in their league.

Several future stars have also made the step up to senior rugby with two of them, Jack Edmondson and Matty Humpage, winning the Player of the Year and Players’ Player of the Year respectively.

Mitch Chapman won the Coach’s Award.

The Atoms’ A team doubled their games from last season and in their six matches averaged 44 points.

The side was made up of the promising youngsters, first-team squad members and some senior players happy with the lighter workload.

Chris Strachan was named the Player of the Year.

50 games: M Short, J Short

75 games: D Ginocchio, D Helme

100 games: A Crookall

200 games: B Livingstone

300 games: B Cambidge

Top Points Scorer: B Livingstone

Top Try Scorers: L Hall, A Collins

Clubman of Year: Wayne Lawton

Gareth Pinington Award: Curtis Lacey

Most Improved Player of Season: Matty Humpage

Players’ Player of the Year: A Crookall

Player of Year: Mark Walker

A team Player of the Year: Chris Strachan

Under 11s Player of the Year: Harry Barron

Under 11s Coach’s Award: Joel Davidson

Under 18s Player of the Year: Jack Edmondson

Under 18s Players’ Player - Matty Humpage

Under 18s Coach’s Award: Mitch Chapman

Team of the Year: Under 13s

A presentation was also made to Heather Rushworth in her first season as the club’s physio