Westmorland Cricket League: Shireshead continue march towards title

Shireshead's Danny Wilkinson.
Shireshead's Danny Wilkinson.

Shireshead and Forton continued their march towards the Westmorland Cricket League Division One title with a seven-wicket win at Windermere on Saturday.

Windermere elected to bat first upon winning the toss and soon lost both openers as Danny Wilkinson (2-35) and Dave Jack bowled incisive early spells.

An injury to Jack pressed young leg-spinner Rowan Upton into action early, and he bowled through the rest of the innings picking up 3-38 from his 15 overs as he impressed with his control and the sharp turn he extracted from the dry surface.

Peter Wilson (4-17) bowled in tandem with Upton and the pair kept the innings in check whilst picking up wickets at regular intervals.

M Park (61) was the mainstay of the Windermere effort but he found little support as the innings subsided to 123 all out in the 40th over.

With a below-par score to defend, the Windermere threw everything at Shireshead’s top order in an effort to make early inroads.

Both J Park and J Crawford in particular bowled handy opening spells, and reduced Shireshead to 19-2, but skipper Paul Yates (36 not out) weathered the early storm and Simon Gould (26) counter-attacked.

Gould’s demise brought Wilkinson to the wicket and he also struck the ball sweetly as he made a rapid unbeaten 45 and ended the game in a flurry of sixes, Shireshead winning with 23 overs to spare.