Vale of Lune elect new-look committee

New Vale of Lune chairman Paul McClaren-Dorrington.
New Vale of Lune chairman Paul McClaren-Dorrington.
Share this article

It’s all change at the Vale of Lune with the club’s new-look executive and management committee taking shape at their annual general meeting.

First team player Paul McLaren-Dorrington is the new chairman and Phil Stott the in-coming director of rugby with former popular centre Fergus Owens taking over as first-team coach from the departed Paul Woodward.

Phil Rogerson is the new secretary and Dermot McCarthy treasurer.

Owens made his Vale debut in September 2009 after his family moved into the area having previously played at Wilmslow.

He made 52 appearances but at the end of the 2010/11 he moved to Sedgley Park having been the club’s leading try scorer with 28 tries that season, topping the North One West list with 23.

Last season he was a popular and successful coach at Lancaster University.

In coming chairman McLaren-Dorrington told the AGM said that the executive would begin to study all aspects of the club’s current situation.

Stott said an important objective was to make the Vale a local club for local players who have come through the club and who live and work locally, plus those who have moved into the area.

There have been early indications that a number of former players who had moved on will be returning to Powder House Lane.

Vale of Lune’s annual players awards evening will be held in the Clubhouse this Friday, May 23, at 7pm.