Steady Swarbrick keeps his cool in T20 derby clash

Charlie Swarbrick.
Charlie Swarbrick.

Lancaster all but secured the honour of hosting T20 finals day after a tight encounter with Morecambe at Lune Road.

Lancaster all but secured the honour of hosting T20 finals day after a tight encounter with Morecambe at Lune Road.

Sam Dixon and the returning Ikram Ullah fell but Morecambe still had a good platform at 43 for 2 after eight.

Rameez Raja got the vital wicket of Siraj Randiv with the score on 56 and Eddy Read soon fell as well – 82 for 4.

With five overs remaining wickets began to tumble. First Ryan Pearson (22) and then Phil Thornton departed exposing Morecambe’s tail.

Iain Burstow and Simm worked well in tandem before Moffat returned to mop up the lower order.

From 90 for 4 Morecambe fell to 98 all out chasing quick runs in the final four overs with the wickets shared among the Lunesiders’ attack.

The hosts suffered an early setback as pro Raja was pinned LBW by his opposite number Randiv in just the second over.

But Lee Sparks continued to impress – striking two maximums in his quickfire 31 to get the hosts rolling.

Randiv bowled Heywood and then turning one through the gate he took Sparks in his final over to leave the Lunesiders 51 for 3.

Enter Charlie Swarbrick (35) who steadied the jitters initiated by Randiv with some sumptuous cover drives.

With the hosts 63 for 3 at the halfway point, Morecambe needed wickets and got them as Jamie Cassidy bowled a tight spell removing Kieran Moffat and Craig Heywood – 77 for 5.

Swarbrick kept his cool however and supported by Iain Burstow, the Lunesiders edged toward the target.

With Read bowled out, Dixon could do little as Iain Burstow struck the winning runs with an over to spare.

Morecambe 98ao

Lancaster 102-5

TWP Wealth Twenty20 Cup

*Lancaster made it two in two after a fine first innings performance saw them overpower Preston at West Cliff.

Lee Sparks helped the Lune road men to 50-0 off six overs before Rameez Raja fell for 25. Jamie Heywood was run out for one before Sparks holed out for 49.

Charlie Swarbrick’s innings was ended by Syed Shajjar Shah as Lancaster finished on 180-5. Preston’s chase never got going, Moffat castled Mohmedrafik Patel while Ben Simm and Callum East both picked up a wicket each.

Dan Chambers and Rameez Raja also chipped in as Lancaster won by 86 runs.