Lymm 2nd 17-34 Vale A

VALE fell behind to an early penalty goal but even in the opening exchanges the pattern of the game was beginning to emerge and the visitors scored in the 11th minute.

Hooker Andy Powers intercepted an ill–directed Lymm pass. He drew in the cover before releasing Alistair Richards who took his pass at full-speed for a try between the posts, converted by Kinglsey Barker.

Five minutes later the Vale swiftly punished a wayward Lymm kick. James Hodder collected the ball and darted off to his left.

A passage of crisp passing ended with James Williams scoring wide out. Barker lashed over a superb conversion.

With the Lymm forwards unable to stamp any authority on the game and their three-quarters full of indecision, the Vale went further ahead in the 22nd minute.

Lock forward Lee Farnworth, bustled his way over from a five-metre line-out for an unconverted try.

The blistering pace of winger Richards was seen to good effect in the 39th minute when yet another telegraphed Lymm pass was intercepted, and he raced 30 metres for his second try which Barker converted.

In stoppage time the Vale were uncharacteristically driven off the ball and conceded a converted try but they quickly extended their lead with a try early in the second half as they capitalised on yet more sloppy play.

Fraser Spavin, who along with Issac Turton in the back row expertly read the scrum half’s pass to create maximum discomfort for the number nine and those around him, dotted the ball down for an unconverted try.

A converted Lymm try came in the 55th minute when Lymm’s number four crashed through some below par Vale tackling but a Barker penalty goal in the 64th minute effectively put the game beyond Lymm’s reach.

Lock forward Lee McCullogh was in the thick of action throughout, and was named man of the match.

Vale now take a breather from conference action, resuming on March 12 with an away game at Stockport.

Vale of Lune A: J Hodder, A Richards, J Williams, K Barker, J Curran, K Doyle (capt), O Hughes, P Jackson, A Powers, A Cowey, L Farnworth, L McCullogh, F Spavin, I Turton, B Charnley. Reps: A Morrison, A Garnett, J Clarkson.