Chisnall reaches Gibraltar semi-final

Dave Chisnall.
Dave Chisnall.

Dave Chisnall had a brilliant run to the semi-final of the Gibraltar Darts Trophy at the weekend.

The Morecambe ace was in scintillating form before losing 6-2 to eventual winner Phil Taylor in the last four on Sunday night.

The Power took control early on, winning the opening leg on double eight, taking out 109 to break in the second and finishing double ten for a 3-0 lead.

He traded 180s with Chisnall in the fourth, and when the Chisnall missed two darts at tops, Taylor landed double six to win a fourth straight leg, before the world number ten finished 100 in two darts to hit back.

Chisnall, though, missed three darts at double 18 in the next as Taylor took out double 16 for a 5-1 cushion. Chisnall landed a 180 and took out 95 to win a second leg, with Taylor waiting on 32, and the pair trade maximums in the next - but Chisnall missed a dart at tops to keep his hopes alive, and Taylor swooped by finishing 90 on the bull to seal the win.

Chisnall began the weekend with a classy whitewash of Manuel Vilerio in Friday’s round one, hitting five 180s and a 128 finish at the Victoria Stadium.

He then produced another superb display in round two, averaging 104.76 in a 6-1 victory over Josh Payne.

The former two-time European Tour finalist then twice hit back-to-back maximums in setting up possible nine-darters during a thrilling 6-3 defeat of Andy Hamilton in a sensational display in Sunday afternoon’s third round.

This set up a quarter-final with Kim Huybrechts with Chisnall going into a 3-1 lead, and then trading legs with the Belgian to make it 4-2.

Huybrechts took out a 71 finish on double 16 to win leg seven, but was punished for a miss at tops to level in the next as Chisnall moved a leg away from victory.

Double 16 kept Huybrechts in the game, but Chisnall was first to a finish in the tenth leg and posted double eight to progress to a semi-final with Taylor thanks to a 6-4 win.

Taylor proved too strong for the Morecambe ace and went on to defeat Jamie Lewis 6-1 in the final.