Carnforth draw at Leyland

FIFTEEN runs from the final over gave Carnforth maximum batting points as they drew at Leyland

Leyland 214-4

Carnforth 181-8

Northern League Division One

Leyland pro Brett Pelser hit 85 off 99 balls with ten fours and three sixes, he added 151 for the third wicket with David Fisher as Leyland reached an impressive 214-4 against Carnforth at Fox Lane.

Fisher made 84 off 134 balls with six fours and two sixes.

Adam Cowperthwaite bowled well to take 3-38 off 13 overs.

Despite being without leading batsman Ryan Nelson and captain Adam Hornby Carnforth made a good fight of it.

Opener Dickon Morris, a former Gloucestershire Second XI and Oxfordshire Minor County player making 89 off 133 balls with seven fours and one six.

When opener Morris was seventh man out Carnforth showed impressive resolution and Warren Quinn and Rob Horsfall hit 15 off the last over to secure maximum batting points .

nA record-breaking innings from Leyland’s Wes Royle meant Carnforth crashed to defeat against the defending champions.

Opener Royle hit an unbeaten 132 in Leyland’s imposing 290-5 off 130 balls with 16 fours and two sixes.

His innings eclipsed Keith Halliwell’s club record in Division Two of 121.

Teenager Danny Lamb hit 72 off 94 balls with nine fours and two sixes as the pair shared a third wicket stand of 144.

Teenager Jason Cornthwaite took 3-74 and then hit 64 off 69 balls with 13 fours in Carnforth’s reply.

Opener Brad Hoyle made 40 and Alex Benson 41 off 21 balls as Carnforth made 215, Lamb completing a fine all round game with 4-45.


Northern league division one


C Parkinson b Cowperthwaite 23

D Fisher b Pedder 84

A Coates c Horsfall b Cowperthwaite 5

B Pelser c Nelson b Cowperthwaite 85

H Thompson not out 7

K Cross not out 8

Extras 2

Total (all out) 214

Pedder 7-1-27-1, Cowperthwaite 13-4-38-3, Quinn 18-3-77-0, Morris 8-0-39-0, Nelson 4-0-32-0.


D Moore lbw b Pelser 21

D Morris c Fisher b Afsar 89

T Barnfield c Fisher b Pelser 12

G Pedder c Parkinson b Makinson 6

L Bradley c Makinson b Afsar 1

R Parker c Rounding b Afsar 13

D Nelson lbw b Pelser 7

R Horsfall not out 16

A Cowperthwaite lbw b Afsar 0

W Quinn not out 8

Extras 8

Total (eight wickets) 181

Pelser 14-2-44-3, A Makinson 6-1-26-0, D Makinson 15-3-35-1, Afsar 11-1-61-4, Cummings 4-0-15-0

Leyland winning draw.