Lancaster win first T20 derby of season as classy Khod sees team over the line

The first of the T20 derby games took place on Friday evening as Lancaster entertained Morecambe at Lune Road.

By The Newsroom
Tuesday, 21st June 2016, 8:51 am
Updated Tuesday, 21st June 2016, 10:53 am
Lancaster celebrate a wicket.
Lancaster celebrate a wicket.

In a game reduced to 17 overs per side by the weather, it was Lancaster who took the spoils by five wickets.

Batting first, Morecambe made a stuttering start as sub professional Brett Pelser was caught at long off for 15, with Viraj Bhatia to follow, and Morecambe were in trouble.

Wickets continued to tumble as on a pitch which was more than helpful to the bowling side, and Lancaster turned the screw, limiting Morecambe to singles, limiting their boundary options

Sign up to our daily newsletter

The boundary was eventually broken as Morecambe skipper Josh Dixon, finding the going tough against Charlie Swarbrick’s medium pace, found a couple of streaky ones to move the score forward.

Scoring was always difficult, and Morecambe could do little more than stumble to just 74 from their 17 allotted overs.

Lancaster’s response started badly as Pelser, opening the bowling, found the edge of Danny Welbourne’s bat to give stand in wicketkeeper Laurance Read a regulation catch behind the wicket.

Then the game was to swing, Eddy Read tearing in from the Lune end found a genuine edge which flew to Pelser at first slip, only for him to put down the catch.

Disappointment turned to concern as Pelser, holding his hand in agony, had dislocated his thumb in the action of the catch.

With Pelser off the field and headed straight for Accident and Emergency, Morecambe were a bowler down.

Skipper Dixon rang the changes, however, it was Lancaster professional Abhimanyu Khod who carefully guided his side home in the 16th over despite a flurry of late wickets.

The pair will do battle again tonight (Tuesday) at Woodhill Lane in a 6.30pm start.

The winner will take a huge step towards finals day at Fleetwood Cricket Club.