Lancaster see off Eccleston but are beaten at Netherfield

It was a mixed weekend for Lancaster Cricket Club '“ first they beat Eccleston CC by three wickets in the Palace Shield Premier Division at Lune Road, but on Sunday they lost by 90 runs away at Netherfield in the Twenty20 Cup.

Tuesday, 22nd May 2018, 10:10 am
Updated Tuesday, 22nd May 2018, 11:11 am
Three wickets for Lancaster's Charlie Swarbrick. Pictures by Tony North

On Saturday, Eccleston captain, Stewart White won the toss and decided to bat first.

Sam Bromley (4), Jamie Maitland (5) and Michael Robert Atkinson (0) all fell early though as Charlie Swarbrick (3-25) and Iain Perrieman (2-25) got to work on the top order. Matthew Ashcroft (21) and Tom Langshaw (17) helped to rebuild the innings until Ben Simm (3-29) struck, taking both wickets, the former was caught by Swarbrick while the latter was caught by Sandy Richards.

Jordan Bentham (5) was run out, Adam Norris (4) was caught by Swarbrick off Simm, and Iain Bradley (5) was caught by Steven Fisher off Swarbrick a the visitors struggled to accelerate the run rate.

Captain White (6) fell to Perrieman LBW and Kieran Moffat (1-31) took his sole wicket of the day when he removed Peter Cummings (25), who was Eccleston’s leading run scorer on the day, as the visitors were all out for 121.

However, Lancaster didn’t get off to the best of starts in their reply, with Richards (6), Fisher (0) and Swarbrick (0) all falling to Peter Cummings (5-28).

Moffat could only manage four runs before being caught and bowled by Cummings, and the Eccleston bowler struck again to remove Joseph Hills (2) LBW before Lancaster’s order finally settled down.

Laurie Atkinson (28) and Faizan Khan (27) combined well to turn the tide back Lancaster’s way, Atkinson eventually falling to White (1-23) while Khan was given out LBW to Iain Bradley (1-34).

Lee Sparks (26no) and Simm (5no) got the home team over the line, with Lancaster finishing on 122-7.

However, on Sunday the Lune Road club were beaten in the Twenty2o competition away at Netherfield.

Home captain Scott Clement won the toss and elected to bat first, and the Netherfield openers impressed.

Theo Gallagher (79) was eventually caught and bowled by Nathan Baxter (1-46) while Finlay Richardson managed a knock of 59 before being bowled by Imran Ashraf (3-30).

Callum Kay (10) and Joe Atkinson (10) came in and managed double figures but Kay was caught and bowled by Geoff Orr (1-25) while Atkinson was caught by Khan off the bowling of Ashraf.

Fraser Kay was run out and Gary Baker could only manage one run before being bowled by Ashraf, with Netherfield finishing on 171-6.

That total proved too much for Lancaster as they only managed to reach 81-9 in 19.2 overs.

Faizan Khan only scored a single run before being bowled by Joel Bibby (1-13), although Ashraf (13), captain Lewis McGinley (21) and Lee Marshall (20) did make double figures in their innings.

However, Barry Dobson, Elliot Marshall and Orr all failed to score as Bertie Medhurst (4-12), Samuel Medhurst (1-20) and Joe Atkinson (1-5) turned the screw. Isaac Atherton (3) and Jacob Orr (9no) were the only other batsmen to score any runs as Lancaster fell to a 90 run defeat.