Lancaster City 2-3 Workington

LANCASTER City’s pre-season campaign ended with a home defeat against Workington on Saturday.

The Dolly Blues gave a good account of themselves against their Blue Square Bet North opponents with Zach Clark and Lee Dodgson getting second half goals for the home side.

It was a bright opening as both sides tried to play football the right way.

Former Morecambe striker David McNiven went close for the visitors, having a shot saved by City ’keeper Martin Fearon and firing another shot just wide.

Young striker Alex Johnson went closest for the home side, being denied first by Reds’ defender Anthony Wright and Johnson then headed a Ryan Elderton cross wide of the mark.

Workington took the lead seven minutes before the break, Gareth Arnison heading home Phil McLuckie’s cross

Despite the visitors looking more likely to extend their lead in the second period, City were on level terms just before the hour mark, Clark firing into the corner of Aaran Taylor’s net with a shot on the turn.

Workington then effectively wrapped up the game with two goals in five minutes.

Jake Simpson scored from an Andy Murray-Jones pass with 13 minutes to go and then Simpson’s fine centre allowed Simon Tucker to head past Fearon.

Fearon then kept the score respectable as his save from Simpson led to a goal mouth scramble with the City ’keeper having to be at his best to deny the visitors a fourth goal.

City then got a consolation goal with time almost up, Lee Dodgson slotting home a penalty.

Dodgson’s return to fitness and form will be encouraging for the Dolly Blues after the winger, who returned to the club at the start of pre-season, had struggled with a groin injury.

The game also marked the return of Jack Duggan, the young central defender who has rejoined the Dolly Blues on loan from Fleetwood.

Duggan formed an impressive partnership with City skipper Neil Marshall last season as the club lifted the President’s Cup.

Lancaster City: Fearon, Henry (Wilson), Elderton (Nightingale), Gregson (Duggan), Marshall, Hall (Carney), Clark (Hattersley), Wills, Johnson (McKenna), Meaney (Dodgson), Rothwell.

Workington: Taylor, Hopper, Wright, Wordsworth, Andrews, Dillon (Main), McLuckie (Sloan), Boyd (Blake), Arnison (Murray-Jones), McNiven (Tucker), Green (Simpson).