Morecambe win two EFL Community Awards for League Two

Watch more of our videos on Shots! 
and live on Freeview channel 276
Visit Shots! now
Morecambe have done the double after the list of 2024 EFL Community Awards winners was published.

The awards celebrate the best in club community work, recognising commitment, innovation and impact from clubs and players during the 2023/24 season.

Shrimps defender Farrend Rawson was named as League Two’s EFL Player in the Community, sponsored by the PFA.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

Announcing the award, an EFL statement said: “Farrend Rawson is acknowledged for his ability to carry his influence on the pitch into his community work and spread his enthusiasm for the importance of player support into the first-team dressing room.

Farrend Rawson was named League Two's EFL Player in the CommunityFarrend Rawson was named League Two's EFL Player in the Community
Farrend Rawson was named League Two's EFL Player in the Community
Read More
Hoping for an Easter resurrection

“Farrend has supported school projects, the Extra Time programme for the over-60s and, at Christmas, organised players and staff donations to buy presents for children at a local hospital.”

Will Vaulks (Sheffield Wednesday) won the award in the Championship and Marlon Pack (Portsmouth) claimed the prize for League One.

The Shrimps also scooped League Two’s EFL Community Project of the Season for the Veterans Project.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

The EFL said: “Morecambe’s project aims to reduce isolation of Veterans, as well as those that live alone and are elderly.

“The project has provided training for veterans of all ages, including employability, first aid, food hygiene, wellbeing and local history.

“Veterans have been referred into services such as debt management, benefit advice, home fire safety checks, and addiction services.

“Over 150 unique, individual veterans signed up to the project, with a record number of 72 attendees at 2023’s end-of-year-event.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

“The session provides a bacon butty, unlimited brews and a safe space for veterans aged from 19-90 to socialise with like-minded people.”

Bristol City were the winners in the Championship, while Port Vale took the League One honours.

The EFL also named its Community Club of the Season winners, which saw West Bromwich Albion, Charlton Athletic and Swindon Town on top in their respective divisions.

The winners are due to be presented with their awards in a ceremony taking place at the House of Commons later today.

An overall winner from each of the three categories will be revealed during the EFL Awards ceremony in London on April 14.