Morecambe 2 – 1 Carlisle

Morecambe v Carlisle United'Danny Carlton in action against one of his former clubs.
Morecambe v Carlisle United'Danny Carlton in action against one of his former clubs.

JIM Bentley secured his first win as Morecambe manager as two late goals gave the Shrimps victory over Carlisle.

After two 1-1 draws in his first two games Bentley looked to be heading for his first defeat as his side trailed 1-0 with 12 minutes to go, but two goals in quick succession turned the game around with the Shrimps clinching an entertaining victory.

Carlisle started brightly and dominated possession in the early stages.

Morecambe struggled to contain the visitors and it came as no surprise when Carlisle took the lead after 22 minutes with an excellent goal.

Striker Rory Loy took possession 25 yards from goal and drilled an unstoppable shot past Barry Roche’s right hand.

The Shrimps almost hit back immediately when Phil Jevons went close with his side’s first attack of note a minute later with a curling effort from the left hand side of the box that flew narrowly wide of the post.

Carlisle’s impressive left back Matty Robson then tested Roche on 39 minutes with a great run and shot that was saved by the ’keeper’s knees.

Morecambe were much better in the second half with Jevons in the thick of the action.

The striker directed two headers wide of the target before seeing a shot beaten away for a corner. The visitors made a raft of changes and the Shrimps took control and produced a fine fightback. Kieran Charnock headed them level on 78 minutes from a Garry Hunter corner and two minutes later Jevons made it 2-1 with a penalty after he had been brought down in the box by Steven Swinglehurst.

Morecambe: Roche, Haining, McCready (Charnock 46), Parrish (Cowperthwaite 46), Wilson, Reid (McDonald 63), Hunter, Drummond, Parkinson (Breen 88), Carlton, Jevons. Subs not used: Routledge, McGee.

Carlisle: Collin, Simek, Robson, Murphy, Livesey, McGovern, Thirlwell, Taiwo, Berrett, Madden, Loy. Subs: Welsh, Zoko, Curran, Noble, Gillespie, Green, Mikkelsen, Michalik, McGlen, O’Halloran, Swinglehurst.

Referee: P Tierney.