Lancaster City 2-2 Clitheroe

Danny Gregson got Lancaster City's equaliser against Clitheroe.
Danny Gregson got Lancaster City's equaliser against Clitheroe.

Danny Gregson’s goal 10 minutes from time earned Lancaster City a point in their New Year’s Day Lancashire derby with Clitheroe.

Darren Green had given the Dolly Blues an early lead but goals from Jack Higgins and Chris Mason put the visitors on course for the three points before Gregson’s late leveller.

City went ahead on nine minutes, the home side hitting Clitheroe on the counter attack with Tom Kilifin firing in a low cross that was converted first time by Green in to the bottom-left corner.

Higgins equalised two minutes later however, heading home after he was left unmarked at the back post from a Simon Nangle free-kick.

The Dolly Blues were nearly back in front when Neil Marshall saw a header cleared off the line by Sean Pearson from a Green corner, but it was the East Lancashire outfit who went into the break ahead.

Nangle scuffed a shot from distance a minute before half-time and it fell to the feet of Mason 12 yards out and he side-footed home into the bottom-right corner.

Neil Wainwright and Michael Stringfellow’s side dominated after the break however, with the visitors losing two defenders to injury.

Striker Kilifin was in the thick of the action, first he was booked as he diverted the ball in to the back of the net with his hand before hitting a chance one-on-one with Hakan Burton straight at the visitors’ ‘keeper.

City eventually got a deserved equaliser on 80 minutes, Gregson, usually a central defender who was introduced off the bench to give extra presence in attack, was in the right place at the right time to sweep the ball home after the ball had bounced around in the box.

However the home side nearly didn’t get the point their efforts deserved, Chris Dykes dragging a shot well wide for the visitors when one-on-one with City stopper Danny McDonald in injury time.

Lancaster City: McDonald, Hudson (Gregson), Winters, Marshall, Short, Simpson, Elderton, Dodgson, Swarbrick, Kilifin, Green.