Cheltenham 1-1 Morecambe

Morecambe picked up a point on a night of penalty drama at Whaddon Road.

By The Newsroom
Friday, 16th January 2015, 10:58 pm
Morecambe FC.
Morecambe FC.

Referee Tim Robinson awarded three spot kicks with Jack Dunn opening the scoring for the hosts on 18 minutes before Jamie Devitt missed a chance of an equaliser 20 minutes from time.

It was left to Padraig Amond to make sure the Shrimps grabbed a deserved share of the spoils as he was successful from 12 yards on 83 minutes.

Cheltenham took the lead after being gifted a soft penalty.

Sign up to our daily newsletter

There looked to be little wrong with Shaun Beeley’s challenge on Lee Vaughan but the linesman pointed to the spot and Liverpool loanee Dunn sent Andreas Arestidou the wrong way.

The first half went from end-to-end with Stewart Drummond and Amond missing good chances before the home side were denied a second in the 36th minute when Alex Kenyon cleared a Harry Williams effort off the line.

The Shrimps had Arestidou to thank for keeping them in touch at the start of the second half for two superb saves with goalscorer Dunn then missing an open goal on 50 minutes that would have doubled his side’s lead.

From there Jim Bentley’s side were in command.

They were wasteful in front of goal however with a string of poor misses before Amond forced Carson into a superb flying save to tip away a close range header.

The Shrimps looked like they had got a reward for their efforts when Devitt was brought down in the area on 70 minutes.

The visitors’ creative force picked himself up but saw his effort saved by Carson before somehow missing the rebound from just three yards out.

His blushes were spared on 83 minutes when the Shrimps were awarded a second penalty and Amond made no mistake as an eventful game ended all square.

Cheltenham: Carson, Vaughan, Taylor, Brown, Braham-Barrett (Bowen 81), Ferdinand, Sterling-James (Gornell 90), Williams (Hanks 52), Stewart, Dunn, Jones. Subs not used: Reynolds, Gray, Deaman, Kotwica.

Morecambe: Arestidou, McGowan (Mullin 59), Edwards, Parrish, Hughes, Beeley, Drummond, Kenyon, Devitt. Amond, Redshaw (Sampson 87). Subs not used: Jones, Bondswell, Doyle, Fleming, Goodall.