Lancashire cricket fixtures for 2016

Southport and Blackpool Cricket Clubs had plenty of reason to celebrate today.
Steven Croft - leading Lancashire in 2016Steven Croft - leading Lancashire in 2016
Steven Croft - leading Lancashire in 2016

They will both host Lancashire matches during the 2016 campaign.

Southport will stage a County Championship game against Durham on July 16, while Stanley Park hosts a Royal London One-Day Cup fixture against Nottinghamshire Outlaws on Sunday, June 12.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

There is a particular boost for the Southport and Birkdale club.

They have signed an agreement with Old Trafford to host a County Championship match in each of the next three years.

It marks the first time that Lancashire has reached a formal staging agreement with an out-ground - it is one which will allow Southport and Birkdale to re-develop player and spectator facilities for the ground.

Southport will be committed to undertaking a series of improvements which will include larger dressing rooms and an improved, groundwide public address system as well as increased spectator facilities.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

Blackpool are preparing to dust off the ‘house-full’ signs again after the announcement that they will stage another one-dayer next summer.

It is a boost to the club that the one-dayer will take place on a Sunday.

And officials are hoping that by 2017, Lancashire will be ready to stage a four-day County Championship match at Stanley Park.

A new pitch has been laid at the ground at the behest of Lancashire with a view to staging a Championship fixture there.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

Blackpool officials are holding out a hope that it could herald a return in 2017 and possibly 2018 as well.

In 2018 Old Trafford will be vacated for a significant spell for World Cup matches and Lancashire will require out-grounds.

Lancashire, who will be skippered by Steven Croft in 2016, have their first Championship match since promotion to the top flight with a clash against Notts at Old Trafford on April 17.

Lancashire, the current T-20 champions, begin their defence of that trophy against Derbyshire at Old Trafford on May 21.



17: Nottinghamshire (Old Trafford)


1 Somerset (Taunton)

8 Hampshire (Old Trafford)

15 Durham (Durham)

22 Surrey (Old Trafford)

29: Yorkshire (Headingley)


20 Warwickshire (Old Trafford)

26 Middlesex (Lords)


3 Nottinghamshire (Trent Bridge)

16 Durham (Southport)


4 Hampshire (Ageas Bowl)

13 Yorkshire (Old Trafford)

23 Surrey (Oval)

31 Somerset (Old Trafford)


13 Middlesex (Old Trafford)

20 Warwickshire (Edgbaston)

NATWEST T20 BLAST (1 day, 20 overs per side)


21 Derbyshire (Old Trafford)

27 Durham (Old Trafford)


3 Yorkshire (Old Trafford)

4 Notts (Trent Bridge)

10 Leicestershire (Old Trafford)

16 Northants (Old Trafford)

19 Birmingham Bears (Edgbaston)

24 Worcestershire (Old Trafford)


1 Yorkshire (Headingley)

8 Worcestershire (New Road)

13 Derbyshire (County Ground)

15 Leicestershire (Grace Road)

22 Durham (Durham)

29 Birmingham Bears (Old Trafford)

ROYAL LONDON ONE-DAY CUP (1 day, 50 overs per side)


5 Warwickshire (Old Trafford)

8 Northants (Northampton)

12 Notts Outlaws (Blackpool)

15 Yorkshire (Old Trafford)


26 Leicestershire (Grace Road)

27 Derbyshire (County Ground)

31 Worcestershire (New Road)


1 Durham (Old Trafford)