Below-par total haunts Lancaster once again

Another foolhardy batting display came to hurt Lancaster once again on Saturday.

By The Newsroom
Tuesday, 21st July 2015, 12:38 pm
Rameez Raja.
Rameez Raja.

Ill-judged strokes brought about a below-par total before the Leyland pair of Richard Frenz and Henry Thompson knocked off the score with ease.

Jamie Heywood fell early for a duck while Alex Metcalfe looked in good touch at the other end before giving his wicket away with an unsightly mow off the tall Andrew Jacques for an unfulfilled 17.

Pro Rameez Raja and Charlie Swarbrick rebuilt the innings until Swarbrick became Luis Reece’s second victim.

Sign up to our daily newsletter

The nagging medium pace of Nathan McDonnell proved the hosts’ undoing as he removed Raja at a crucial time for 59.

Kieran Moffat then miscued a McDonnell slower ball to cover, and Iain Perrieman became McDonnell’s third soon after.

Sam Moorby (33) joined McDonnell’s wicket roster before Reece returned to mop up –Ben Simm (2) was adjudged leg before and Lee Sparks was bowled.

Liam Moffat was the last man to go with Lancaster registering 153.

In reply, first Perrieman picked up Parkinson chasing a wide delivery and edging to Moorby before Liam Moffat put the hosts in the hunt, bowling Reece for just five.

Richard Frenz and Henry Thompson began slowly but eventually found their timing – Liam Moffat looked to rotate his bowlers but it was to no avail as familiar fielding troubles began to slip back into Lancaster’s game.

Both visiting batsmen brought up their fifties as Leyland cruised home by eight wickets in just the 29th over.

lLancaster bounced back from Saturday’s disappointment with their first Readers Cup win since 2008 on Sunday against Chorley.

Batting first, Lancaster’s top order was blown away by Ed Moulton, leaving the hosts on 32-5 before Charlie Swarbrick (58) and Iain Perrieman (56) helped the Lancaster recovery, the hosts finishing on 191 for 9.

In reply, Chorley were bowled out for 177 with Dan Chambers and Ben Simm the pick of the bowlers.