Chisnall gets England call-up for World Cup of Darts

Dave Chisnall will represent England at the Betway World Cup of Darts later this month.

Thursday, 24th May 2018, 9:38 am
Updated Thursday, 24th May 2018, 9:41 am
Dave Chisnall. Picture: Lawrence Lustig/PDC

The Morecambe man will be joined by debutant Rob Cross, whose World Championship win lifted him up to third in the world.

Scotland will be the number one seeds for the competition following the confirmation of the 32 teams for the event.

The 32-nation World Cup of Darts will be held from May 31-June 3 at the Eissporthalle in Frankfurt, and broadcast live on Sky Sports.

Reigning champions Netherlands – three-time winners since the event’s introduction in 2010 – will be represented once again by Michael van Gerwen and Raymond van Barneveld as they bid to retain the title.

However, with seedings based on the cumulative PDC Order of Merit ranking of players, Scotland’s Peter Wright and Gary Anderson – ranked second and fourth in the world – will be top seeds as they bid to erase the memory of a first round exit to Singapore in 2017.

Former finalists Australia will be seeded fourth as Simon Whitlock teams up again with Kyle Anderson, while two-time runners-up Wales will see Gerwyn Price joined by another debutant, Jonny Clayton.

World Grand Prix champion Daryl Gurney partners Brendan Dolan for number six seeds Northern Ireland, who were semi-finalists in 2014 and 2016. Seventh seeds Belgium will see former finalist Kim Huybrechts partnered by reigning PDC Unicorn World Youth Champion Dimitri Van den Bergh, who makes his debut in the event.

Austria’s Mensur Suljovic and debutant Zoran Lerchbacher complete the eight seeds, with the remaining 24 nations being drawn at random in the first round draw.

The draw for the Betway World Cup of Darts will be made on Thursday, May 17.

The first round will be split across Thursday, May 31 and Friday, June 1, with the second round on Saturday, June 2.

The quarter-finals will begin the final day of action on Sunday, June 3, with the semi-finals and final in the evening session.