VIDEO - ELECTION 2015: David Morris secures second term for Conservatives in Morecambe and Lunesdale

editorial image

David Morris has secured a second term as Morecambe and Lunesdale MP.

The Conservative candidate saw off competition from Labour’s Amina Lone in Thursday night’s General Election, increasing his majority from 866 to 4,590.

It was a stunning triumph for Mr Morris in a seat most expected to be won narrowly.

All through the count on Thursday night/Friday morning at Salt Ayre Sports Centre, the word was it would be too close to call, but in the end the Conservative won comfortably.

Following his win, Mr Morris said: “This feels better than 2010.

“The people of Morecambe have given me their approval and I’m the only MP in the history of this seat to ever increase their majority.

“Now I’m going to go to sleep as I’ve been up for 36 hours straight.

“My priority is to get the tunnel under Morecambe Bay and I’m going to hold the Prime Minister and the Chancellor to it.

“I’m going to fight and fight and fight for jobs and prosperity in Morecambe and Lunesdale. I will not let my constituents down.”

Ms Lone was absent for most of the count, which ran from 10pm after polls closed until the declaration at around 8.40am.

She arrived to hear the final result and was unavailable for comment afterwards.

But later she tweeted: “Thank you so much Morecambe & Lunesdale people. You are beautiful. Keep strong, we will be back to fight for you.”

Steven Ogden came third in the Morecambe and Lunesdale vote thanks to strong support in the Westgate and Harbour wards.

“I think we have pinched votes off both main parties,” said Mr Ogden.

Full results: Morris 19,691, Lone 15,101, Steven Ogden (UKIP) 5,358, Matthew Severn (Lib Dem) 1,612, Phil Chandler (Green) 1,395, Michael Dawson (Northern) 85.

In the poll 43,242 votes were cast in Morecambe and Lunesdale with a turnout of 64.62%.

Nationally, the Conservatives will be the largest party.

They were predicted after polls closed on Thursday to win 316 seats to Labour’s 239 but on Friday morning experts were saying the Tories could win enough seats to gain an overall majority.

By 9am on Friday, 630 out of 650 seats had been declared, Conservatives 315, Labour 228, SNP 56, Lib Dems 8. They were predicted to win 316 seats to Labour’s 239.

The Scottish National Party were having a great night after wiping out many Labour strongholds in Scotland, while it was turning into a bad night for the Lib Dems with cabinet members Vince Cable and Ed Davey losing their seats, as well as veteran MP Simon Hughes.

David Cameron, on retaining his Witney seat, said: “I want my party and I hope, a Government I’d like to lead, to reclaim the mantle of one nation, one United Kingdom.”

Ed Miliband, leader of the Labour party, on holding his Doncaster North seat, said: “This has been a very difficult and disappointing night for the Labour party.

Nick Clegg, leader of the Liberal Democrats, said on holding his Sheffield Hallam seat: “This has been a cruel and punishing night for the Liberal Democrats.”

Nicola Sturgeon, leader of the SNP, said: “The tectonic plates of Scottish politics have clearly shifted.”