County elections: Big gains for Labour but no overall control

editorial image
Share this article

Labour have made major gains in the Lancashire County Council elections but have failed to gain overall control of county hall.

They came four seats short of the 43 needed to take control of the council, the Conservatives having gone in to Thursday’s poll with a large majority.

The final result saw Labour with 39 seats, the Conservatives with 35, Liberal Democrats six, three Independents and one Green.

Turnout in the Lancaster and Morecambe district was 29.31 per cent.

Full results for the Lancaster and Morecambe district are as follows:


Conservative Ken Brown (ELECTED) 1205

Labour Margaret Pattison 1153

UK Independence Party Nigel Brown 711

Independent Geoff Knight 151

Green Party Gisela Renolds 87

Lancaster Central

Green Party Gina Dowding (ELECTED) 1639

Labour Colin Hartley 1299

Conservative Janet Walton 820

UK Independence Party Sally Thornton 343

Liberal Democrats Michael Mumford 98

Trade Unionists and Socialists Against Cuts Steve Metcalfe 47

Independent Peter Jewell 20

Lancaster East

Labour Richard Newman-Thompson (ELECTED) 1325

Green Party Sam Riches 1210

Conservative Billy Hill 297

Independent Edward Oldfield 119

Lancaster Rural East

Conservative Susie Charles (ELECTED) 1958

Labour Stuart Langhorn 963

UK Independence Party Frederick Mcglade 803

Liberal Democrats Joyce Pritchard 474

Green Party Chris Coates 333

Lancaster Rural North

Conservative Alycia James (ELECTED) 1559

Labour Matthew Hood 1032

UK Independence Party Mark Nelson 684

Green Party Mark Westcombe 265

Lancaster South East

Labour Chris Henig (ELECTED) 977

Conservative Joan Jackson 730

Green Party Jack Filmore 257

Liberal Democrats Janie Kirkman 243

UK Independence Party Alexander Woolf 189

Trade Unionists and Socialists Against Cuts Peter Okenla 59

Morecambe North

Conservative Tony Jones (ELECTED) 1271

Labour Stephen Wheeler 710

Independent Tony Anderson 639

Green Party Abi Mills 132

Morecambe South

Labour Darren Clifford (ELECTED) 972

Conservative Susan Sykes 888

UK Independence Party Gina Loxam 685

Independent Roger Dennison 330

Liberal Democrats Michael Gradwell 214

Socialist Labour Party Barry Maguire 50

Green Party Harris Kaloudis 46

Morecambe West

Labour Janice Hanson (ELECTED) 889

UK Independence Party Steven Ogden 824

Conservative David Gallagher 319

Independent Geoff Walker 199

Green Party Catriona Stamp 80

Liberal Democrats Harry Armistead 67


Labour Niki Penney (ELECTED) 1240

Conservative Nigel Goodrich 562

Green Party David Fleet 267