Business near Lancaster adapts to new normal by Zooming into people’s kitchen with a recipe for happiness

Two women are transforming their business on the Lancashire border by putting their popular farmhouse cookery workshops online.

Friday, 30th October 2020, 7:00 am
Cooks Angela Favell and Deborah Clark are putting their popular farmhouse cookery workshops online from October. Photo: Victoria Sedgwick

Now people can sign up for a live lesson, via Zoom, from the comfort of their own kitchens, joining others from around the UK.

Together they will produce dishes that include a cream tea, Indian, Eastern Mediterranean or Thai meal.

Talented cooks Angela Favell and Deborah Clark say that in two hours participants will have their spirits raised whilst creating fabulous food, using affordable and easy to find ingredients.

Sign up to our daily newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

The duo behind the business, The Create Escape, which they set up in June 2019, say since opening they have welcomed more than 300 people, or ‘escapees’, to the Hale farmhouse to enjoy experiences.

In addition to cookery classes, a talented team of Cumbrian experts also lead workshops including photography, felting, ceramics and somatic exercise.

Angela says cooking is a great ‘stress buster’ as it requires concentration which means people can forget everything else. As she explains:

“It’s a real tonic for the soul, cooking in the company of others and having a bit of fun. Right now, we know people’s spirits can be low so we’re hoping people see this as an opportunity to invest in some feelgood factor.

"It’s got all the ingredients for good mental health, from the sense of achievement that comes from learning a new skill to connecting with other friendly faces.”

For these two food professionals dipping their toes into live cook-along sessions, is a natural extension of their hospitality skills and a desire to take care of others.

“We’re not an online company, we didn’t set out to be and we know our bricks and mortar workshops really work,” adds Debs.

“But we’re confident the magic of creating food together can happen online, it certainly did in our practice sessions. We are adding to the list too, with winter warmers, vegetarian, fish and seafood, Christmas and Easter themed online workshops in the pipeline.

“It’s changed our business model and we expect online experiences to run alongside our farmhouse-based workshops in the future.”

For more information about the courses and dates, and to book online please click hereWorkshops

Friday 30th October 11am-1pm and 5-7pm - Eastern Mediterranean

Saturday 31st October 11am-1pm and 5-7pm - Thai

Friday 6th November 11am-1pm and 5-7pm - Fish and Seafood

Saturday 7th November 11am-1pm and 5-7pm - Vegetarian

Friday 13th November 11am-1pm and 5-7pm - Winter Warmers

Saturday 14th November 11am-1pm and 5-7pm - Quick and Easy Meals

Thursday 19th November 11am-1pm and 5-7pm - Indian

Tuesday 24th November 11am-1pm and 5-7pm - Eastern Mediterranean

Saturday 28th November 11am-1pm and 5-7pm - Thai

Friday 11th December 11am-1pm and 5-7pm - Winter Warmers

Saturday 12th December 11am-1pm and 4-6pm - Indulgent Nibbles

Saturday 19th December 11am-1pm and 4-6pm - Christmas Dinner Accompaniments

Saturday 9th January 11am-1pm and 4-6pm - Vegetarian

Thursday 14th January 11am-1pm and 4-6pm - Thai

Wednesday 21st January 11am-1pm and 4-6pm - Indian

Saturday 23rd January 11am-1pm and 4-6pm - Eastern Mediterranean

Friday 29th January 11am-2pm and 4-6pm - Winter Warmers

Thursday 4th February 11am-1pm and 5-7pm - Quick and Easy Meals

Thursday 11th February 11am-1pm and 5-7pm - Fish and Seafood

Saturday 13th February 11am-1pm and 5-7pm - Valentine’s Dinner

Friday 19th February 11am-1pm and 5-7pm - Italian

Saturday 20th February 11am-1pm and 5-7pm - More Thai

Thursday 25th February 11am-1pm and 5-7pm - More Vegetarian

Thursday 11th March 11am-1pm and 5-7pm - Fish and Seafood

Tuesday 16th March 11am-1pm and 5-7pm - More Indian

Thursday 18th March 11am-12.30pm and 3-4.30pm - Cream Tea

Thursday 25th March 11am-1pm and 5-7pm - Spring Suppers

Thursday 1st April 11am-1pm and 5-7pm - Easter Inspiration

Tuesday 6th April 11am-1pm and 5-7pm - Italian

Saturday 10th April 11am-1pm and 5-7pm - More Eastern Mediterranean

Friday 16th April 11am-1pm and 5-7pm - More Quick and Easy Meals

Thursday 22nd April 11-12.30pm and 3-4.30pm - Cream Tea

Saturday 24th April 11am-1pm and 5-7pm - Pies and Pastry

Wednesday 28th April 11am-1pm and 5-7pm - More Thai

Thursday 29th April 11am-1pm and 5-7pm - More Vegetarian